Skip to content

happy mother’s day, momma!

May 10, 2009

Jen & Mom at camp

This year my mom will have been a mother for 30 years!  To honor her, I am going to list 30 of my most favorite things about the greatest woman I have ever known…

  • She loves the Lord and faithfully prays for her children every day.
  • When I call her on the phone, she always sounds extremely excited to talk to me.
  • She makes every holiday and birthday unbelievably special.
  • She laughs at all of my jokes.
  • She is one of the hardest working people I have ever known.
  • I would be hard pressed to ever hear my mother complain…about anything!
  • She really loves and respects my dad.
  • She lovingly welcomed Joe and Melinda into our family.
  • She helped me win 2nd place in the Science Fair in 5th grade.
  • She cried more than anyone when we told our family we were having a baby.Me & Mom
  • She treats every person she talks with as though they are the most important person in the world.
  • She loves and prays for her grandchildren every day.
  • She has always been mine and Ryan’s biggest fan.
  • She is a true Southern woman from Mississippi who has been happily married to a Yankee for over 30 years.
  • She took me to church every time the doors were open.
  • She always took really, really good care of me and Ryan when we were sick.
  • She supported me in every activity I wanted to be involved in, even the ones she knew I would quit.
  • She is coming to Minnesota during her upcoming summer vacation to help us with our baby.
  • She has been a first grade school teacher (including mine) for almost 30 years.
  • She has never met a stranger.

AAA028

  • She unashamedly drops hints every day that she wants us to move back to Texas.
  • She cries every time we have to say good-bye.
  • She is an incredible daughter to her parents.
  • She lovingly took care of her mother-in-law for years before she died.
  • She plays games with me and Joe for hours.
  • She is going to read to our son.
  • Along with my dad, she prayed with me in our car on the side of the road when I wanted to become a Christian.
  • She worked hard to support me and Ryan through Texas A&M University.
  • She has been my most faithful friend for as long as I can remember.
  • She makes me want to love, serve, support, pray for, and cherish our son in the same ways that she has for me and Ryan the past 30 years.

IMG_0073

Momma,

Happy Mother’s Day!  I love you with all my heart.  This list could go on and on.  Thank you for everything you do for your family.  We are blessed beyond words to have you as a daughter, wife, mother, mother-in-law, Sassy, sister and friend.  Our family does not deserve a woman like you, but we are so thankful for God’s grace in our lives.

“Her children rise up and call her blessed; her husband also, and he praises her: Many women have done excellently, but you surpass them all.” Proverbs 31:28-29

I call you blessed,

Jen

10 Comments leave one →
  1. melinda permalink
    May 10, 2009 12:45 pm

    Love this, Jen! I have to disagree with her crying the most when hearing the news you were pregnant…I think it may have been my dad!! JJ! I’m so blessed to have your sweet mom as my mother-in-law!

  2. Talitha permalink
    May 10, 2009 2:24 pm

    that was beautiful!!

  3. Sandy Smith permalink
    May 10, 2009 2:36 pm

    Wow!! I’m going to have a hard time living up to those wonderful compliments. Thank you so much for honoring me in such a sweet way. You are a blessing to me. You will be a wonderful Mommy to __when will I know his name??hee hee
    I love you so much, Momma

  4. Gigi and Daddy Bill permalink
    May 10, 2009 8:35 pm

    I know everything you said about your mother is true. She is a wonderful woman and has passed all of that on to a wonderful daughter. We are blessed to have both of you in our lives. We love you.

  5. May 10, 2009 9:44 pm

    Wow, Sandy’s hair was awesome. I remember these pictures. I guess I saw them in college. Love you girl! Happy Mom’s Day, Ms. Sandy!

  6. Molly Piper permalink
    May 11, 2009 8:47 am

    Adorable pictures and lovely post. My mom was always trying to sneak our baby names out early, too! 🙂

  7. May 11, 2009 3:20 pm

    What a sweet way to honor your mom!

  8. thegereckesonamissionaryjourney permalink
    May 12, 2009 3:59 pm

    Ha! She unashamedly tells me I need to come back to Texas too 🙂 According to her I missed my calling to La PORTO, Texas. You forgot to mention how funny she is! She is wonderful…I love your momma too!

  9. Sally Lopez permalink
    May 13, 2009 8:47 am

    This is so sweet and true of your little Momma! I love you, Jen and I love you, Sweet Sandy.

  10. betsykirk permalink
    May 16, 2009 7:36 am

    Love your MomDay post, Jen. (Also love your mom!) I know you are paying her a tribute, but you are also issuing a challenge to us…

Leave a comment