Skip to content

nacho libre + encarnacion

November 1, 2010

“Encarnacion, I was wondering if you would like to join me in my quarters this night for some toast…”

“It’s very late, Ignacio.”

“Oh please, Encarnacion!  I beg you.  Join me in my quarters this night for some toast…”

“I even wrote you a song, Encarnacion.  Would you like to hear it?… Sure, Ignacio.”

When the fantasy has ended
And all the children are gone
Something good inside me,
Helps me to carry on!


I ate some bugs,
I ate some grass,
I used my hand,
To wipe my tears

To kiss your mouth
I break my vow
No no no, no no, no WAY JOSE


Unless you want to
Then we break our vows together


Encarnacio-hooooon
Encarnacio-ho-ho-ho-ho-ho-hon

Encarnacion
*Diduliduliluli!*
Encarnacio-ho-ho-ho-ho-ho-hon

Love,

Your brother in God- Ignacio.

oo xx oo X o XX x

(hug hug, kiss kiss, hug hug, BIG kiss, little hug, kiss kiss, little kiss)

**************************************************************

Special thanks to my amazingly talented friend, Jenna, for going along with my crazy costume idea for our kids.  Not only did she support me in my silliness, but she handmade the most incredible little nun costume from scratch in about an hour.  Well done my friend, well done!

And for those of you who have never heard of (or seen) Nacho Libre, you are not alone.  While Trick-or-Treating last night, Jenna and I discovered that just about every person on our block didn’t have a clue who our kids were dressed up as, (“Oh, is that Fraulein Maria and a Superhero?”…C’mon, People!!).  So, let me be the first to introduce you to this timeless treasure.  You only have to watch it a couple (six?) times to really appreciate its genius!  You are welcome.

22 Comments leave one →
  1. November 1, 2010 5:17 am

    I love this, J! Nice!

  2. Robin Cook permalink
    November 1, 2010 5:34 am

    Cute! Cute!

  3. Nancy Wilson permalink
    November 1, 2010 6:44 am

    Bob and I had a big laugh over this…one of the funniest movies ever! Our grandsons have watched it so many times I finally bought them all masks in San Antonio last year. Good one Jenny!

  4. Allison permalink
    November 1, 2010 7:25 am

    You totally outdid yourself with this one. Made my morning! Miss and love you and SAM! Tell him hello… come to Texas soon!!!

  5. Becky permalink
    November 1, 2010 7:28 am

    I hate this movie, but I love this. They both look so adorable. Well done, you two!!

  6. Karla permalink
    November 1, 2010 8:44 am

    you are both AMAZING!!! I could not love it any more.

  7. November 1, 2010 9:31 am

    i am OBSESSED with these costumes….er…i mean children!

  8. Rachel permalink
    November 1, 2010 9:50 am

    “Don’t you want a little taste of the glory? See what it tastes like?”

  9. Jenn A permalink
    November 1, 2010 11:16 am

    Hilarious! Not my favorite movie, but you hit the nail on the head with the costumes! So funny!

  10. November 1, 2010 11:57 am

    Unbelievably adorable! Love love love it!

  11. November 1, 2010 1:39 pm

    This is outstanding. Thanks for sharing your creativity with us. What a great idea.

    But did you know that it says in the Bible not to wrestle your neighbor?

  12. November 1, 2010 1:57 pm

    nice, david. they were breaking bread together:)

  13. November 1, 2010 2:44 pm

    Jenny,

    This is absolutely hilarious! You are the coolest mom!

  14. November 1, 2010 5:41 pm

    I’ve been so looking forward to this post and you did not disappoint!! Hilarious. Great job- both of you- on the costumes!

  15. Andrea Edwards permalink
    November 1, 2010 6:36 pm

    Oh Jenna, you are masterful! You made our night with your hilarious costumes!!!!! Brilliant! And beautiful camerawork to boot! Thanks!!!

  16. Andie permalink
    November 1, 2010 7:32 pm

    oh oh oh. this is the very very best I have EVER seen for halloween. oh. my. goodness.

    you made Andrew and my night, you guys!

  17. Sandy Smith permalink
    November 2, 2010 5:18 pm

    This is by far your very best blog post!!!!

  18. rithmatith permalink
    November 3, 2010 9:15 am

    I love, Love, LOVE this….the movie and especially the costumes. This is priceless 🙂

  19. November 3, 2010 12:24 pm

    This is the CUTEST thing EVER. LOVE!

  20. November 3, 2010 12:46 pm

    Seriously Awesome!

  21. November 19, 2010 9:33 am

    Hello,

    I just want you to know that in finding your blog, I too have been inspired to start my own. My husband and I have been married for 12 years and we believe God will bless us with a baby. This year like no other has been a year of great expectations because of the promise God spoke to us back in 2002 in reference to having a son. I want to thank you and ask that you and your husband would be in agreement with us that we will conceive before the end of the year. Thank you and thanks for the encouragement!

    Wakenia

  22. Susie Tiemeyer permalink
    August 11, 2013 12:05 pm

    Jenny, my hubby & I watched the movie for the first time last night. I was already familiar with this post and had seen the Nacho & Encarnacion costumes when they were current. Now, I sort of “get it.” Hubby howled when I showed him these photos after watching the movie.

    We’re big Naploeon Dynamite fans (after repeated viewings)…maybe the same will happen with Nacho.

Leave a comment