Skip to content

our read-aloud log

March 17, 2012

The other day, when Sam and I piled up on the couch to start digging through our new stack of library books, I picked up Piggies by Don and Audrey Wood and began reading.  Not even finished with the first page, Sam looks at me and says:

“Mom, this is my favorite book in the Whole Wide World of God!”

(I wanted to say, “Don’t hold back, Sam, tell me how you really feel about this book on pigs.”  But apparently it wasn’t needed!)

It’s little moments like this one that make me want to keep a *running log of all the books we read aloud to our children.  I’ve wanted to do this for some time now, and mainly for my own personal use.  I want to be able to look back over the years and see what books we’ve read, when we read them, and which books rise to the top as family favorites.  I won’t be doing any sort of official book reviews, just simple lists and note-keeping (plus any funny commentary that my children might happen to add).

I’ll share our read-alouds at the end of each month and recommend our favorites.  I’ll store these posts on their own page at the top of our blog.  I welcome you to jump in and share what you’re reading with your kids as well…I’d love it actually!

*(Not to be confused with a log for running.  I don’t think this side of heaven you’ll ever see one of those from me.)

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 18, 2012 3:09 am

    My 7 month old loves book! He has a few favorites right now…
    Dr. Seuss’s ABC: An Amazing Alphabet Book!
    Hello, Minnesota! words by Constance Van Hoven, Pictures by David Walker
    Goodnight, Little Bear A Sleepy-Time Tale

Leave a comment